Where You Stand

[TV addicts may recognize a few lines borrowed from the wonderful show ‘Castle’. I wrote this piece the night after I watched episode 3×16 entitled ‘Setup’. Some lines inspired me, and although this poem is not entirely related to the show, I must give credit to the episode’s writer, David Amann.]

You stay out on your own,
I’ve locked my heart here inside,
waiting for you to enter
a place of no escape.

You’ve found your comfort zone;
oh, if only we could dive
dive into it together,
my whole life would take shape!

It’s hard to know where you stand
with one foot out the door,
so hard to know what you want
whether to stay or run away.
It’s hard to know where you stand,
tell me what you’re looking for,
so hard to cross the distance
when your soul fades into gray.

I promise to give you all
the personal space you need;
I won’t force things, my love,
but I can’t let you go.

And if you ever fall,
if I ever see you bleed,
if push comes to shove,
I’ll wipe off the shadow.

It’s hard to know where you stand
with one foot out the door,
so hard to know what you want
whether to stay or run away.
It’s hard to know where you stand,
tell me what you’re waiting for,
so hard to cross the distance
when your soul fades into gray.

And as you’re pacing back and forth
between your fears and my despair,
I’ll keep writing down the dream
until the ink leaks out again.

Let’s blow off the remorse,
we’re running out of air.
Boat slowly down the stream
Maybe it’ll clean the stain.

It’s hard to know where you stand,
so hard to know what you want.
It’s hard to know where we stand,
so hard to cross the distance.
It’s hard, but here I stand,
here I stand
for you.

 © Emilie