My Little Girl

[Although I don’t have a daughter, one of my friends does. And each time I spend time with them, I’m fascinated by the connection that exists between these two. Mother-daughter relationships can often be conflictual (tell me about it!) but the girl is still pretty young, so for now my friend is just enjoying the simple pleasures of being a mother. I don’t have kids (yet) but, obviously, watching my friends raising theirs and realizing how much they have changed compared with what they were before, is amazing… Anyway, this piece is inspired by and dedicated to my friend A. and her daughter J.] [And by the way, in case you didn’t notice, i love writing about childhood…]🙂

You’ll no longer believe in fairies
When you’re a grown-up
No longer ask for dogs and ponies
Won’t make me check for the monsters in your closet
When you’re a grown-up
So let’s do this while you’re still my little girl

You’ll no longer laugh at my jokes
When you’re a grown-up
Won’t take a bath with your toy boats
You won’t lose me with the imaginary plots you set
When you’re a grown-up
So let’s do this while you’re still my little girl

You won’t hold my hand in the street
When you’re a grown up
You’ll no longer dance on my feet
You won’t put pink ribbons in your hair
When you’re a grown-up
So let’s do this while you’re still my little girl

You won’t cheer me with a kiss every morning
When you’re a grown up
You won’t hug me before sleeping
You won’t call my name in your nightmares
When you’re a grown-up
So let’s do this while you’re still my little girl

You’re still my little girl
And I’ll read you the best stories
About fairies who turn monsters
Into funny and harmless frogs
I may even buy you a dog
We’ll put a ribbon in her hair
She’ll walk with us in the street
Yes, my little girl, we’ll do all this
And no matter how old you are, I promise,
I’ll always let you dance
I’ll always let you dance
I’ll always let you dance
On my feet

 © Emilie