Ice and Snow

The sun is hiding behind a heavy sea of clouds,
everything’s grey downhill.
Dark granite walls are standing still
as if the signs of time were not allowed.

Only sullen faces and weary eyes live there;
people speak low, so low.
The world barely breathes through my window,
The silver mine nearby is roaring in the air.

Leaving the valley now,
up, up to the snow,
high till the sky bites my face
and the trees don’t grow.
Leaving the valley now,
up, up to the snow,
where ice will guide my pace
and never let me go.

The sun is shining over a weightless sea of clouds;
everything’s bright uphill.
Large blankets of white are resting still,
healing the scars of time under a fragile shroud.

Only lonesome birds and lost souls fly there;
I’m walking slow, so slow,
and let the wind lay down the law.
All I ever need is to feel it in my hair.

Far from the valley now,
up, up to the snow,
high till the sky bites my face
and the trees don’t grow.
Far from the valley now,
up, up to the snow,
where ice will guide my pace
and never let me go.

 © Emilie