What I Could Do To You

Would you keep me if you knew
I could shatter your heart into a million shards,
leave your skin dry under the hottest sun
like an old dead tree in an endless summer?

Would you fear me if I drew
a target on your chest, turned ink into a scar?
And if I asked you to, would you give me a gun
and look at my hand as I pull the trigger?

Would you love me
differently
if you knew
what I could do
to you
if I ever wanted to?
Would you lose me
into that storm
if I were free
to break you down?

Would you keep me if you knew
I could salvage your soul in a second,
silence your thoughts with my bare words,
fan the embers burnig into your brain?

Would you fear me if I threw
a whole bag of lies and stoned your innocence,
then laugh at the feelings scratching you all over?
What if I tied your wrists to invisible chains?

Would you love me
differently
if you knew
what I could do
to you
if I ever wanted to?
Would you chase me
into that storm
if I were free
to break you down?

Would you love me
differently
if you knew
what I could do
to you
if I ever wanted to?
Would you face me
into that storm,
and let me free
to break you down…

…just like you broke me too?

© Emilie